Stranded In Stereo: Monday Morning Newsletter (03/10/08)

Monday, March 10, 2008

Monday Morning Newsletter (03/10/08)

While you are packing your bags to board your flights to Austin for the clusterfuck that is SXSW, Jose Fritz has all the news you need to know beforehand in the Monday Morning Newsletter.

Nine Inch Nails have released a new 36 track instrumental album dubbed "Ghosts I – IV." The album is currently download-only. A 9 track mp3 preview, is here.

Parlor Mob, the long lost classic rock band of the last 1970s has been released from their cryobank in Paramus, NJ and will be releasing their first album in 30 years this week.

Russian Circles will be releasing their new LP Station on May 6th this year on Suicide Squeeze Records. The band is currently on a headlining East coast tour with Dalek and Young Widows. For the record, they are the only indie band in America today who uses male models for their T-shirts.

The Black Keys, the Ohio the retro scuzz-blues duo are releasing their fifth album, "Attack & Release," on April fools day. The 11-track album will see release through Nonesuch and was produced by Danger Mouse of all people. Apparently Steve Albini was busy.

Jessica Simpson will join rock act Disturbed and comedian Carlos Mencia in Kuwait during a concert for US troops March 10th. It will also be broadcast live on the social networking site MySpace. The concert will be followed by an auction of her Thong on the popular auction site eBay.

Puscifer is releasing a new V Is For Vagina remix EP on April 29th. The set includes remixes by Slipknot, Isis, Ministry and some old unemployed nu metal dudes. as they take stabs at tracks "Queen B" and "Dozo", plus a vinyl version of V Is For Vagina on April 29th as well.

MACRoCk has begun to announce bands for 2008. The first confirmed bands include Elf Power, Black Moth Super Rainbow, The Forms, Fin Fang Foom, and Antlers. This is the 9th annual Mid-Atlantic College Radio Conference, that’s almost a decade of being the only game in town.

The Old 97’s will release their seventh studio album, Blame It On Gravity, May 13 on New West Records. This is their first studio album in 4 years. For the record Rhett still is in desperate need of a haircut.

Rocklahoma has announced it ‘s line up including Warrant, Whitesnake, Motley Crue, and Kix. Most band members were easily found working fryolators across southern New Jersey.

The Vines are hav a new album ready for the new year. No release date is set, but their fourth album is titled Evolved. You may remember their singer Craig Nicholls torpedoing their rise to fame in 2002 by throwing tantrums before after and during shows. In 2005 he was diagnosed with lead vocalist disorder and refocused on his career.